The Gift of Feathers

(Banner image was sourced from Unsplash. The other photos are by the author.)

I cannot recall when I started collecting them. The very first one presented itself to me some years back while I was going up the stairs inside our home — a small and dainty white feather resting on one of the steps.  Until now I have no answer as to how it could have flown in. We have no feathered pets nor any house item that has feathers in it. The only possible explanation was that it could have entered the house through an open window, from a bird that lost a feather while flying outside. I picked it up and kept it as a memento.

The same experience happened at least twice at different times – clueless me finding feathers on the stair steps. On different occasions, I saw a few more pieces while taking leisurely walks outside or while going out for some errands. In those exact moments of sighting, I had no questions nor qualms about picking them up. I just felt a certain lightness and joy at finding something so delicate and beautiful, randomly, in unexpected places.

Some of my earlier gifts together with a prayer accompany me every day

Sometime this year while on a tour in Siquijor, an island known for mystical healers, a similar experience took on a special meaning. Our son who arranged the trip hoping to practice his newly acquired diving skills, fell ill throughout our stay – leaving us little choice but to make it a true staycation and be content with what was immediately accessible within our rented lodge. On our last day on the island, while he was fit enough to travel back home, my anxiety was real so I prayed for everything to go smoothly.

As we were leaving the resort, I saw a feather on the ground, near a shrub with beautiful flowers. I knew then that everything will be fine. And yes, we made it home safely despite the unfriendly weather and my son still a bit indisposed.

Once, while revisiting my feather collection, one got blown away because I forgot to switch off a whirling electric fan. Despite my earnest effort to find it, I couldn’t, and just had to let it go; but I felt so low at losing a treasure. That same day, while going out for some transactions, I found not just one, but two bird feathers along my path — a quick turnaround to replace what I just lost.

Just last week during a quick trip to my home province in Bicol, I chanced by these three treasures after a short walk along the shore.

I can sense a certain rhyme but still at sea regarding the reason behind these feel-good occurrences. Let’s admit it:  one of the fastest ways to find answers these days is through AI. Here’s what openai.com has to say:

Finding feathers in unexpected places is often seen as a symbol or omen in many cultures and belief systems. While the specific meaning can vary depending on the context and personal beliefs, here are some common interpretations associated with finding feathers:
1.   Spiritual Connection: Feathers are often considered a sign that angels, spirits, or loved ones who have passed away are watching over you. It’s seen as a symbol of their presence and protection.
2.   Guidance: Some people believe that finding feathers can be a message or a sign from the universe, guiding you in a particular direction or offering reassurance that you are on the right path.
3.   Freedom and Ascension: Feathers are associated with birds, which are free to soar through the skies. Finding feathers can symbolize the desire for freedom, spiritual ascension, or breaking free from limitations.
4.  Comfort and Support: Feathers are soft and gentle, and finding them can be a sign that you are being comforted or supported during a difficult time.
5.  Synchronicity: Some interpret finding feathers as a form of synchronicity, suggesting that you are in tune with the universe or that you are aligned with your life’s purpose.
It’s essential to remember that the meaning of finding feathers is highly personal and can vary from person to person. Some individuals may not attribute any special significance to it at all, while others may find great comfort and meaning in these small, unexpected discoveries. Ultimately, the interpretation of finding feathers is a matter of personal belief and can be a source of inspiration and positivity in one’s life.

If you have experienced these synchronicities like I’ve had, here are some insights you might want to check out:

https://my.astrofame.com/clairvoyance/article/feathers-meanings

Love and light to you, dear readers!

Leave a comment