Saturday in the Park

(originally posted as Facebook Notes on October 29, 2011)

Jaime Velasquez Park at Salcedo Village in Makati beckons like a siren on Saturdays especially to foodies and lovers of things organic. I’m neither of these two types; still, I can’t resist the call. Perhaps it’s the calming effect of the leisurely walk around the treed community, or that sense of ‘wow’ seeing and tasting something far from the ordinary. A visit to the Salcedo Saturday Market is something I always look forward to,  for the sensory experience.

And OK,  for the food.  The food vendors here are usually housewives and entrepreneurs capitalizing on their heirloom recipes or expats eager to share their culinary expertise. I’m no Julie Powell with Julia Child aspirations, so don’t look for me in the kitchen. I’m out in the park buying something nice and nourishing.

This is where I usually get my pomelo salad.

I get my supply of brown rice here, because it’s cheaper ... and full of grace.

I’m not much of a wine drinker, but this one got my attention. Maybe next time, when they get the spelling right. Yes, there’s such a thing as Tribiana wine.

Pumpkins from Davao, in time for Halloween

Quiche, quiche, baby

Hot off the grill

Green and organic produce

No guesswork here. They have them all sorted out.

Flora...

...and fauna (not)

Going nuts

Exotica from Chlorophyll Manila. The spiny fruit is called gac. It has 76 times more lycopene than an average tomato has, and 10 times more beta carotene than that of a carrot. At the foreground are small round fruits called hawthorns, which are known to promote digestion and blood circulation, and some unfamiliar flower-like fruits.

Challenger, anyone? All of 500g burger filling in a 9-inch diameter bread within 20 minutes. Losers pay PhP350.

Personal - Top Blogs Philippines

2 thoughts on “Saturday in the Park

  1. hi chit tribiana,,, 🙂
    i just wanna inform you about the fruit looks like flower, actually that was flower and it called Rosella in my country or Roselle (Hibiscus sabdariffa) we usually make it tea, it taste good… 😀
    fyi i’m from indonesia… 😀

Leave a Reply

